Dr. Michael Glover named as Physician of the Year by Flagstaff Medical Center

J. Michael Glover, M.D., named Flagstaff Medical Center 2015 Physician of the Yeardr glover revised

J. Michael Glover, M.D., has been named Flagstaff Medical Center’s 2015 Nathan Avery Physician of the Year. Dr. Glover will be honored at an award ceremony on Monday, March 30, as part of FMC’s National Doctors’ Day celebration. He is the 22nd physician to be named Physician of the Year for exemplifying the organization’s mission, vision and values and working in partnership with the hospital to provide excellence to patients and the community.

Dr. Glover was selected by a committee of previous Physician of the Year award winners. The committee considered nominations from hospital staff, volunteers, board members and physicians, as well as physicians’ contributions to the organization to determine this year’s awardee. He was chosen for his outstanding dedication to his patients, extensive surgical skills and commitment to quality standard. His leadership, alongside Timothy Bonatus, D.O., Darius Moezzi, M.D., has been important in the development of the hospital’s expanded orthopedic services.

“I am honored to receive the 2015 Nathan Avery Physician of the Year award. Nate was a person who embraced the virtues of a physician: integrity, compassion, self-effacement and self-sacrifice,” Dr. Glover said. “I am humbled to be chosen from amongst a group of exceptional physicians nominated by all of those who work at Flagstaff Medical Center. I want to say thank you for your confidence in my abilities.
“I believe that when physicians are actively engaged in leadership, our healthcare system can transform and develop into the effective organization it needs to be. I also firmly believe in a team approach to providing medical care, and the importance of working collegially with every member of a team who cares for or serves a patient, in order to deliver the best care possible. It is a privilege to live and work alongside so many friends and colleagues in this special community of Flagstaff.”

With more than 20 years’ experience as an orthopedic and spine surgeon, Dr. Glover specializes in the medical and surgical treatment of the neck and spine. He has a special interest in orthopedic trauma, minimally invasive surgery of the spine and spinal deformity surgery. He is board certified in orthopedic surgery and fellowship trained in orthopedic spine surgery. He is a member of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgery, North American Spine Society, American Medical Association, Western Orthopaedic Association and American Academy of Physician Leaders.

Dr. Glover has been a member of FMC’s medical staff since 2005. He has been a member of the hospital’s Medical Executive Committee since 2012, serving as the secretary, treasurer and chair of the Department of Surgery. Currently, he is the president-elect for the 2016 term. After spending 12 years as an Air Force physician and seven years in private practice in Tennessee, he relocated to Flagstaff in 2005. He is an avid scuba diver, backpacker and climber, and he and his wife Christine love the mountain environment Flagstaff offers.

Previous Physician of the Year recipients include Andrew Aldridge, M.D; Nathan Avery, M.D.; Alice Berger, M.D.; Jeffrey Christenson, M.D.; Edgar Clark, M.D.; Mark Donnelly, M.D.; Matthew Dunn, M.D.; John Durham, M.D.; Tamara Johnson-Baack, M.D.; Theodore Lewis, M.D.; Cindy Martin, M.D.; Jerry Mohr, M.D.; John Mougin, M.D.; Richard Neff, M.D.; Brad Noblett, M.D.; Mark Peterson, D.O.; Stephen Ritland, M.D.; Kenneth Salce, M.D.; Harnath Singh, M.D.; John Steenbarger, M.D.; and Dan Wesche, M.D.